Thursday, June 26, 2014

Reviewing: Doll-baby

By: Laura Lane McNeal

What It's About!

A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans—a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets

When Ibby Bell’s father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father’s urn for good measure. Fannie’s New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been—and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum—is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie’s black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.

For Fannie’s own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby’s arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby’s hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.

For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help, Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.

By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.

My Thoughts!

I received this book through Net Galley in turn for an honest review.

It was rather odd finding this book in the New Adult category, but I'm glad that I did. This book was already winning when I started reading and I found that the story was based in New Orleans. (My Favorite Place In The World) I noticed that in some of the reviews some compared Doll-baby to The Help. This book was far better than The Help. The only reason it didn't get five stars in my personal rating was because I didn't find a memorable quote to take with me. The story was great. I liked the ending. I would suggest it to others. Great Read!

For more of my reviews..please check out my blog!

No comments:

Post a Comment